Epiphone Les Paul Nuclear Extreme review

by admin on April 16, 2009



John reviews a late 1990′s Epiphone Les Paul Nuclear Extreme Limited Edition, using a Roland Cube30 amp. All of the guitar reviews are on the Guitar Reviews section of the website, www.johnhguitar.com

{ 27 comments… read them below or add one }

taccaron1 April 19, 2009 at 12:08 am

Some epiphones are decent. I tried out the 1966 reissue sg which looks great and has a sweet tone. However if you picked up a good old gibson, even the faded series, the epiphone just doesn’t compare. Epi’s are good for a the budget conscious player which is why gibson started epiphone in the first place.

Jarriew April 22, 2009 at 1:37 am

Omg XD it´says “WW III” :O I dident know world war III exicsted ^^

sorry for my bad humor. well awsome guitar ! thanks for review!

kalisteboat April 23, 2009 at 6:27 am

Thank you for the advice ;-)
I have tryed some mid range PRS guitars and they are more versatile.
A sound very close to the LP Studio and the possibility to have a strong and crystal sound like some Fender guitars.
… and also Hagström has a wonderful Super Swede model at 400 euros … amazing !

Bye my friend.

dart1971 April 25, 2009 at 2:59 pm

You should try out a Gibson LP studio. They are possibly lesser quality than some epiphone LP’s. Also, if you are worried about build quality and still want a cheaper paul than a gibson, check out epiphones elitist line.

johnhguitar April 27, 2009 at 4:37 am

Thanks for the name clarification.

-jc

dart1971 April 29, 2009 at 1:11 am

This guitar is called the epiphone les paul extreme. I really perfer this guitars headstock and fret markers. Otherwise, it is ugly as sin.

80sbandsrock April 30, 2009 at 5:29 pm

no no no no no, epiphone was already a music company when gibson took them over and started making lower grade guitars. I have an epi les paul and i LOVE it. it has a great sound, its perfect.

guitarman5588 May 2, 2009 at 9:14 am

i actually like that finish

kalisteboat May 4, 2009 at 1:06 am

Impossible, i have tested two today and their is a huge difference compared to a Gibson LP Standard.
So huge that i was unable to buy it … even 1/4 cheaper !

ddavis510 May 5, 2009 at 2:01 am

I had an epi LP for years. I went the whole rewire route. SD PAF humbuckers, Gibson Pots, NOS caps, Switch craft jack and switch. I wired it as a 50′s LP. Don’t get me wrong. I played it for years.Its a great starter instrument. Its a great guitar to learn what makes a guitar works. I bought a new Gibson LP standard this year. There is no comparison.

kylemiller500 May 7, 2009 at 4:31 pm

you act like they suck horribly. why?

StreeTRacR008 May 9, 2009 at 10:42 am

You’re complaining about the guitar weighing too much? aww, who gives fuck? Some of the Epiphones coming out now are great, some are not. Gotta try them to find a good one, same with the MIM’s Fenders, I got a horrible Strat, traded it back and got a Tele, which was great

NagaPelangi May 9, 2009 at 11:28 am

looks like a giraffe skin, lol

johnhguitar May 12, 2009 at 6:37 am

I’m just saying that a good Gibson guitar is a superior instrument. You get use to things when you don’t have something to compare it with. After having a nice Gibson for a long time and then trying the EPI imported stuff it just doesn’t cut it for me.

MitchRulzWorld May 14, 2009 at 10:41 pm

What do you have against Epiphone? I have an Epi Les Paul Special two and that baby is sweet!!!

Tototwice May 15, 2009 at 7:57 pm

O.K. so you buy that guitar $300. change all the hardware set the guitar up etc. invest,.. lets go crazy $500. more and still save? How much? About $2000. bucks….. The choice is easy….NUFF SAID.KEEPON STRUMMIN…DALLAS

TheGroupNameBand May 16, 2009 at 6:50 am

i have the epiphone les paul custom silverburst model. plays simular to a gibson
check out my vids

spillingmachine May 16, 2009 at 11:55 am

Epiphone sucks, If I only had 4 or 5 hundred bucks to spend I would rather have a MIM strat. I have had absolutely no luck with anything made by Epiphone and the guitar weighs a tonne.

johnhguitar May 18, 2009 at 3:53 am

He knows that, as we recorded a few other Epiphone reviews the same day where he went over that subject (I didn’t post to YT). His exact words are,

“Gibson put out their budget line of guitars, their imported guitars, with the name Epiphone …”

which is not the same thing as saying they started Epiphone.

-jc

sat158 May 19, 2009 at 7:16 am

someone who knows what theyre on about. you are a legend mate! keep it up! :)

sat158 May 20, 2009 at 11:23 am

wtf?! gibson didnt start epiphone! they bought epiphone. les paul had a les paul with both companys before gibson had anything to do with epiphone. get it right mate :)

GalaxyHorse May 23, 2009 at 3:52 am

Epiphone have also produced high-end instruments, like the Casino, and ES335 clones, as played by George Harrison, and John Lennon-who could afford Gibsons if so desired, but they chose and Epiphone for the tonality and quality of the Epiphone…

spencer14287 May 25, 2009 at 10:42 am

i think its pretty cool because its an interesting colour and its not black…..LIKE EVERYONE ELSES GIBSON LES PAULS!!!!

Royalista05 May 27, 2009 at 2:17 am

It is just pathetic. Epiphone is a great stuff and is an American brand as well (purchased by Gibson after the WW II). Great musicians use their instruments and are using them. And their Les Pauls have no problem with broken necks (talking about Quality Control, btw). This guy probably spent significant amount of time to find this nonsense color, cause I have never seen any Gibson product coming out with this bullshit design. If it’s true, Gibson sucks, dear.

Jesse872 May 28, 2009 at 5:48 pm

i REALLY dont like the color of that guitar…

Daniel C. August 24, 2010 at 10:50 am

Holy crap this guitar is very hard to find. Curious why you decided to use that amp for the review when I don’t think it gives it justice. But still your video sounded good thank you.

Matthew December 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm

I have owned this Epiphone Les Paul Extreme for 10 years and I think it plays amazingly. I have owned many many high end guitars and/or played many high end guitars ranging from USA Fender Strats to BC Rich stuff and everything in between…thinking about it now, I wonder what happened to some of them…anyway, I owned a Gibson Flying V and I think that this Epiphone LP plays better and the sound was just about the same. The neck on this LP is very easy to play on and in person the paint job on it does not look that bad. I looked up the serial # on mine and it was made in 2001 which is the year before they moved the factory from Korea to China, so the quality is better on 2001 and earlier models.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: